Local Emergency Planning Committee

East Georgia LEPC


Newton and Walton Counties

What is the LEPC

Under the Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act (EPCRA), Local Emergency Planning Committees (LEPCs) must develop an emergency response plan, review the plan at least annually, and provide information about chemicals in the community to citizens. Plans are developed by LEPCs with stakeholder participation. There is one LEPC for each of the more than 3,000 designated local emergency planning districts. The LEPC membership must include (at a minimum):

  • Elected state and local officials
  • Police, fire, civil defense, and public health professionals
  • Environment, transportation, and hospital officials
  • Facility representatives
  • Representatives from community groups and the media

Newton and Walton Counties have merged their LEPC’s in to one power-house to better serve both counties with combines resources.

Together with the newly forming East Georgia Regional LEPC the ability to be responsive to East Georgia residents needs in planning for events we hope never happen. If they do we want to be really, and running within hours not days.